Guides · Motion graphics

Best motion graphics software in 2026: desktop, browser, AI and code

Twenty-four motion graphics tools compared on price, platform, free tier and what each is for: After Effects, Cavalry, Jitter, Rive, AutoAE, HyperFrames.

Updated October 26, 2026

Best motion graphics software: a frame rendered with the Bars style
Rendered by the Bars template on this site.

In short

  • Desktop: After Effects is still the standard at about $23 a month on an annual plan. Cavalry and Maxon Autograph went free for individuals in April 2026, the first serious free layer-based tools; Blender and DaVinci Resolve are free for 3D and compositing.
  • Browser design tools: Jitter for brand and UI motion, Rive for interactive animation, Canva and CapCut for template clips. All of them watermark or cap the free export.
  • AI motion graphics generators (AutoAE, Hera, Swishy, Motionvid) mostly assemble short template snippets from a prompt and export video files; the editable graphics are templates, not frames invented by a video model, though Motionvid now sells video model credits too.
  • Code is the fourth category. HyperFrames, Remotion and Manim render deterministic video from HTML, React or Python, AI assistants write them, and the music visualizers on VisualizeMy are the browser version.

Motion graphics software used to mean one question, After Effects or Cinema 4D, and one answer, both. In 2026 the field has four categories that barely overlap: desktop programs where professionals work, browser design tools that export motion for the web, AI generators that assemble clips from templates and prompts, and code frameworks that render video from HTML, React or Python. Which one you need depends less on your skill than on where the result will live: a broadcast, an app, a TikTok feed, a product page.

This guide puts twenty-four tools in one table and then walks each category. We build audio-reactive tools in the browser category, so we appear in one row and keep our opinions to that row. Everything was re-checked on October 26, 2026 against each vendor’s own pricing, product, help and release pages, without signing up; where those pages do not say, the table says so rather than borrowing a review site’s figure. Prices are US dollars and they move.

Twenty-four motion graphics tools compared

ToolCategoryPlatformFree tierPaid fromBest at
After EffectsDesktop, layersWindows, macOS7 day trial$22.99 a month single app, annual plan billed monthly2D animation, compositing, the plugin and tutorial ecosystem
Maxon AutographDesktop, layers and 3DWindows 10 22H2 or 11, macOS 15+ on Apple siliconFree for everyone, teams and commercial use includedFreeLayer animation with a real 3D mode, responsive formats
CavalryDesktop, procedural 2DWindows, macOSFree for individuals, with a free Canva loginCanva Enterprise for studiosProcedural, data-driven motion, Lottie
Apple MotionDesktop, real-timeMac30 day Apple Creator Studio trial$49.99 once, or Apple Creator Studio $12.99 a monthTitles, particles, Final Cut templates
BlenderDesktop, 3DWindows, macOS, LinuxEverything, GPLFree3D motion graphics, geometry nodes, Grease Pencil
Cinema 4DDesktop, 3DWindows, macOS14 day Maxon One trial$839 a year billed annually, or $109 a month3D motion design, cloners, Redshift
DaVinci Resolve (Fusion)Desktop, node compositorWindows, macOS, LinuxFull editor and Fusion, 8-bit up to UHD 60Studio $295 once, on sale at $236 when checkedCompositing, tracking, keying, 3D text
NatronDesktop, node compositorWindows, Linux, macOS on IntelEverything, GPLFreeNuke-style compositing; stalled since 2022
KdenliveDesktop, editorWindows, macOS, LinuxEverything, GPLFreeKeyframed effects and titles inside an editor
JitterBrowser, designBrowser3 files, 720p, watermarkPro $15 per editor a month, billed annuallyUI and brand motion, Lottie handoff
RiveBrowser, interactiveBrowser plus runtimes3 files, splash screen on exportsCadet $9 a monthState-driven animation inside apps and games
LottieFiles CreatorBrowser, LottieBrowser5 exportsIndividual $19.99 a user a month, billed annuallyShipping UI animation to developers
SplineBrowser, 3DBrowserWatermarked web exportsHobby $12 a month annual; video export from Pro at $25Interactive 3D for websites
CanvaBrowser, templatesBrowser, apps1080p MP4 up to 30 minutesPro $144 a year, 4K up to 2 hoursSocial clips, animated slides
CapCutEditorDesktop, web, mobileUp to 4K on desktop, no watermark unless a Pro asset is usedPro $19.99 a monthTemplate motion and captions for shorts
Linearity MoveDesign appiPad, MacLimited exportsPro $10 a month, $8 annualAnimating Figma and Illustrator files
AutoAEAI, templatesBrowser5 downloads, 720p, watermarkStarter $12 a monthTen second titles, logos, charts, mockups
HeraAI, prompt to scenesBrowserNot stated on its own siteNot published on its own siteEditable explainer scenes from a prompt
SwishyAI, kinetic typeBrowserNot confirmed, pricing page not foundNot confirmedAnimated typography and typefaces
MotionvidAI, explainersBrowserStart freeStarter $19 a month, 1080pNarrated explainer motion graphics
HyperFramesCode, HTMLAnyEverything, Apache 2.0FreeAgent-written explainers and product films
RemotionCode, ReactAnyFree for individuals and companies of up to three people$25 a seat a month above thatTemplated video at scale, captions
ManimCode, PythonAnyEverything, MITFreeMath and science animation
This siteBrowser, audio-reactiveBrowser1080p MP4, ten minutes, no watermark, no signupFree todayMusic videos, lyric videos, podcast clips, Spotify Canvas

Desktop software: where the professional work happens

After Effects remains the baseline every other tool is measured against: a layer-based timeline, precomps, expressions, and an ecosystem of plugins, templates and tutorials no competitor approaches. Its weaknesses are the ones its own users list, preview performance on long comps, an architecture from the 1990s and the subscription, $22.99 a month as a single app on an annual plan billed monthly, or $69.99 a month inside Creative Cloud Pro, on Adobe’s US plans page. The free trial is seven days.

Maxon Autograph is the newest serious challenger. It pairs an After Effects style layer stack and dope sheet with a true 3D mode, native USD, responsive design that renders one project to several aspect ratios, and OpenFX support. Left Angle sold it for $299 before Maxon took it over in 2025; since Autograph 2026.0 on April 15, 2026 it is free for individuals, and since May 7 team licenses are free for commercial use as well, so the product page now simply says it is free for everyone. It needs Windows 10 22H2 or Windows 11, or macOS 15 or later on Apple silicon. Reviewers call the learning curve steep, the tutorial base is thin, and users report instability on machines with little video memory.

Cavalry is the procedural tool: rigs, scattering, instancing, spreadsheet-driven variations and Lottie export, with a real-time viewport. Canva bought it in February 2026, and version 2.7 on April 16 made the paid Professional features free for individuals; it now asks for a free Canva login, and studios sign in through Canva Enterprise. Cavalry’s own pages do not spell out commercial terms, so read Canva’s before client work. No 3D, no keying or tracking. Our After Effects alternatives guide goes deeper on both Autograph and Cavalry.

Apple Motion costs $49.99 once and is Mac only. Behaviors replace most keyframing, it renders in real time, and it publishes titles and generators into Final Cut Pro, which is why Final Cut editors rarely look elsewhere. Since January 2026 it also ships inside Apple Creator Studio at $12.99 a month or $129 a year with Final Cut Pro, Logic Pro, Pixelmator Pro, Compressor and MainStage, which is also how you try it: the Creator Studio trial is 30 days. Motion 6.4 lists macOS 26.6 or later on its App Store page.

Blender is the free 3D answer, GPL licensed, in its 5.2 long-term support release (5.2.3, October 2026, with 5.3 due in November), with geometry nodes for procedural animation and Grease Pencil for drawing in a 3D scene. It is a beast to learn and weak at the After Effects jobs: text animation, templates, editor round trips.

Cinema 4D is the studio standard for 3D motion design, with the MoGraph toolset, simulation and Redshift rendering. Maxon’s own pricing page lists it at $839 a year billed annually or $109 month to month, with Redshift now included, and the trial is 14 days of Maxon One. After Effects subscribers get Cinema 4D Lite with their plan.

DaVinci Resolve hides a full node-based compositor, Fusion, inside a free editor: 3D workspace, particles, planar and camera tracking, a keyer, paint. The free editor, now DaVinci Resolve 21, works with 8-bit formats up to UHD at 60 frames a second; Studio, $295 once and on sale at $236 when we checked, adds the Neural Engine tools, AI noise reduction, hardware H.264 and H.265 encoding and up to 32K at 120 frames a second. Fusion is a hard switch for layer thinkers and clumsy at simple 2D animation, which is the consistent forum verdict.

Natron is a free, GPL compositor in the Nuke idiom whose last stable release was November 2022; the project is looking for maintainers. Kdenlive is a free editor with a capable titler, keyframable effects and motion tracking, in the 26.08 series (26.08.2 when we checked), and it is not a motion graphics tool so much as a place to finish one.

Browser and design tools that export motion

The browser tools come from design rather than video, and it shows: Figma-like canvases, vector precision, and exports that favor Lottie and GIF alongside MP4.

Jitter is the design team’s motion tool. The free tier allows three workspace files and exports at 720p with a watermark; paid tiers unlock ProRes and WebM, transparent exports, and 4K at 120 frames a second on the top plans, with Lottie on every tier. Pro, at 1080p and 60 frames a second, is $15 per editor a month billed annually. Rive is the one to pick when the animation will run inside an app or game rather than as a file: a state machine drives it and native runtimes play it. Free exports carry a Rive splash screen; Cadet at $9 a month removes it. It also exports MP4, GIF, WebM and PNG sequences. LottieFiles Creator exists to ship UI animation to developers as Lottie or dotLottie, plus MP4, WebM, MOV and GIF; the free tier allows five exports, then the Individual plan is $19.99 a user a month billed annually. Spline does interactive 3D for websites, with watermarked web exports on free, and video export only from the Pro tier at $25 a month on an annual plan.

Canva and CapCut are the template tools. Canva exports 1080p MP4 for free up to 30 minutes and watermarks only when you use premium elements; Pro, $144 a year, raises that to two hours at 4K. CapCut’s free editor is complete, with keyframes, chroma key and 1080p export without a watermark unless a Pro-marked asset is in the project; Pro is $19.99 a month for the Pro assets and the AI tools; the free desktop app already exports 4K. Neither exports Lottie or transparency. Linearity Move, on iPad and Mac only, animates Figma, Illustrator and Sketch files with automatic keyframes and exports MP4, MOV, GIF and Lottie; Pro is $10 a month or $8 on an annual plan.

AI motion graphics generators: what they actually generate

Searching “AI motion graphics generator” returns HeyGen, Vidu and Vidio.ai at the top, and a layer of specialists below them. It is worth being precise about what they do, because the motion graphics they sell are not a video model inventing frames. They are template engines with a language model choosing and filling the template; where one also offers a video model, as Motionvid now does, that part makes footage, not editable graphics.

AutoAE is the clearest case. About a thousand templates for ten second titles, kinetic type, charts, logo reveals and phone mockups; you swap in text, a logo or media, or let its agent pick, and it renders online to MP4. The free tier is five downloads at 720p with a watermark for non-commercial use; Starter at $12 a month removes the watermark at 1080p, and 4K is enterprise only. Hera, a YC-backed tool, turns a prompt into editable, scene-based motion graphics from hundreds of templates; its site publishes no plans or prices, so what the free tier gives is not stated there. Swishy generates kinetic typography and animated typefaces and exports MP4, MOV and GIF; its pricing page returned “not found” when we checked, so its plans could not be confirmed. Motionvid makes narrated explainer-style motion graphics from a prompt, with an API and MCP hooks; you can start free, and paid plans begin at $19 a month for 1080p exports. Its plans now also carry credits for generative video and image models, so it straddles this category and the video generators. HeyGen’s tool does script-to-animated-video with a free plan of three watermarked videos a month, and Creator at $24 a month billed yearly or $29 month to month.

Two things hold across the category. They export video files, with no Lottie and no transparent background outside the top tiers, so the output goes into a video, not a product. And the quality ceiling is the template library: a generator produces a good ten second clip in a style it already has and cannot produce one it does not.

Code: motion graphics as a program

The fourth category barely existed two years ago and is now the fastest moving. A motion graphic is written as a program in which every property is a function of time; a headless browser renders it frame by frame and FFmpeg encodes the MP4. HyperFrames, created by HeyGen in March 2026 and past 72,000 GitHub stars by late October, does this from plain HTML and CSS with timing attributes, allows GSAP, Lottie and Three.js inside, and is Apache 2.0 licensed with no fee; its README says it was built for AI agents to write. Remotion does the same from React components, with captions, maps and data-driven scenes, free for individuals and companies of up to three people and $25 a seat a month above that; it publishes official Agent Skills for Claude Code, Codex, Kimi Code and Cursor. Manim, MIT licensed, is the Python engine behind 3Blue1Brown’s style of mathematical animation.

What makes this category matter is who writes the code. Since September 2026, Claude Opus 5.5 and its peers write HyperFrames and canvas scenes well enough that explainers, title sequences and generative animations are being produced from a paragraph of description, a Hacker News front page thread called “Opus 5.5 is good at explainer videos” being the clearest example. Our guide to what Claude can and cannot do with video walks the pipeline, the posts and the costs.

The browser-rendered tools on this site are this category with the code already written. The music visualizer is a set of canvas drawing functions that receive the time, the song’s spectrum and the beat and are encoded to MP4 inside your tab with WebCodecs; the lyric video maker, the audio to video tool and the Spotify Canvas maker run the same engine. Free, 1080p, no upload, because nothing leaves the browser. They make motion graphics for music and nothing else, which is the trade.

What changed in 2026

A lot, for a field that moved slowly for a decade. Canva bought Cavalry in February and made it free in April; Maxon made Autograph free the same week, and the motion design forums spent the spring asking whether a beginner should still learn After Effects. Apple bundled Motion into Creator Studio in January. HitFilm, the free alternative on every list for ten years, had already been discontinued in January 2025, and the browser tool Fable closed in late 2024. HeyGen released HyperFrames in March and it became one of the fastest growing repositories on GitHub. And in September the Opus 5.5 generation of AI assistants started producing code-rendered explainers that people mistook for video generation. The categories in this guide are the result.

How to choose motion graphics software

If you work in a studio or want to, learn After Effects and Cinema 4D; the pipelines and the hiring have not moved. If you are a freelancer or a beginner who wants a real tool for nothing, start with Cavalry for procedural work or Autograph for layers, and add Fusion in Resolve when you need compositing. On a Mac with Final Cut, Motion is the obvious $49.99. If you design in Figma and the result ships in a product, Jitter for brand motion and Rive for interactive animation. If you need a clip for a feed today, Canva or CapCut; if the clip is a ten second logo or title, AutoAE or Hera. If you can describe an explainer in a paragraph and are comfortable with a terminal, let Claude write it for HyperFrames. And if the motion graphic is a music video, a lyric video, a podcast clip or a Spotify Canvas, the tools here render it in the browser for free, which is the one corner of the field where no software needs installing at all.

Questions

What is the best free motion graphics software?+

Since April 2026, Cavalry and Maxon Autograph: Autograph is free for everyone, teams and commercial work included, and Cavalry is free for individuals with a free Canva login. Cavalry is for procedural 2D, Autograph for layer-based animation and compositing. Blender is free for 3D and DaVinci Resolve is free for compositing through Fusion. In the browser, Jitter and Rive have free tiers with a watermark or splash screen, and Canva exports 1080p for free up to 30 minutes.

What do professionals use for motion graphics?+

After Effects for 2D and compositing and Cinema 4D for 3D, often together, because studios share project files and hire for them. Cavalry has a growing place for procedural work and Rive for interactive animation. The free wave of 2026 has not changed studio pipelines yet; it has changed what a freelancer or a beginner can start with.

Is there motion graphics software that runs in the browser?+

Yes, in three kinds. Design tools: Jitter, Rive, LottieFiles Creator and Spline, with Canva and CapCut for templates. AI generators: AutoAE, Hera, Swishy and Motionvid, which render from templates or prompts on their servers. And audio-reactive tools such as VisualizeMy's music visualizer, which render in your own tab with no upload.

Can AI make motion graphics?+

Mostly in two ways that are not a video model inventing frames. Template tools like AutoAE and Hera assemble a ten second title, logo or chart from a prompt. Code assistants like Claude write HTML or React for HyperFrames or Remotion, and a browser renders the film frame by frame. Some template services, Motionvid for one, now also sell credits for video generation models, which give you footage rather than editable graphics. For compositing, tracking or original design, the AI tools are not there.

What is the easiest motion graphics software for beginners?+

Canva or CapCut if you want a clip today from a template. Apple Motion if you are on a Mac and want a real tool with a gentle curve, because behaviors replace most keyframing. Linearity Move on iPad or Mac if your designs already live in Figma or Illustrator. After Effects has the most tutorials of any tool, which is its own kind of easy.

Sources, read October 26, 2026

Related